My Wordle Cloud

Glancing over my blog and realizing that I now have some searchable content (keep those Google Alerts coming!), I decided to make a Wordle, a tool that visualizes word frequencies on any blog, Delicious account or page with a RSS feed. You can fully customize the font, size, layout and color scheme of your cloud too, making it a cool and funky personalized topic relevancy report you can feature on your blog. I’m doing it now partly because I want to compare it later down the road when I become a more experienced marketer.

Wordle: hellaPR

Will the words “social” and “Twitter” always have a large prominence? It will be interesting to see where this relevance goes in the next year, or if I’ll be working as inhouse PR or at an agency, or if I win the lottery and never have to work a day again. Chances are, the word “job” will be just as heavily weighted.

Now, my boyfriend has told me that my “heavy” (relative term) tweeting is rather pointless, and I could be far more productive putting my energy towards something else (more so when I was in school complaining about sleep deprivation), but I beg to differ as I use it to learn and engage with others. These people are both friends and people I don’t know. Looking above at my Wordle clould for this blog, lets compare to my personal Delicious tags Wordle cloud versus my TweetStats (thanks @dacort for making such an awesome tool) cloud for my personal Twitter account word cloud.

Wordle: chelseapearl delicious

VS.

Wordle: chelseapearl tweet cloud

or in a clearer layout, via TweetStats, here is a cleaner look at the spread.

@chelseapearl twitter wordcloud

@chelseapearl twitter wordcloud (click for full size); top five words: rt, work, going, day, time.

At first glace of my personal account clouds, one might infer I’m interested in business but I also have a human side as evidenced by the words “humor”, “cute”, “inspiration”, “recipes”, “animals”, etc. Moving onto my TweetStats diagram, I appear frantic, stressed and all over the place! Though it might not be apparent in tweets, my most common concern deals with time. Another concern I face is the word “drinking”; there’s no way to tell that the word “tea” or “coffee” follows it the majority of the time (I promise!). Although the beer makes a cameo in the cloud, so does coffee, espresso, tea, etc.

Then again, looking at a heavy Twitter user like @adamjackson, who tweets a lot about the tech industry, San Francisco and work, his top five words in descending order are: going, time, home, twitter, work. This goes to show that always tweeting about what you do literally, on the surface, might negate the useful stuff you share as well. Qualitative versus quantitative. He sure does tweet a lot, but that doesn’t merit an unfollow from me.

Sorry, this was sort of a humpday ramble (weekend, you’re so close!) so in summary, these great tools can help you craft a better elevator pitch based on what you really blog/tweet about, or at least give you guidelines for tagging words for optimal relevancy.

About Chelsea Pearl

Community manager by day, style blogger by night. http://chelseapearl.com
This entry was posted in Analytics, Social Media, Twitter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

