Reflection on First Year in The “Real World”

SFSU Marketing Graduation 2009

One year ago today, I finished my last class and completed by bachelors degree, and it’s quite interesting to look at where I’m at then versus where I’m at now. First, the real world it’s not all it’s cracked up to be, though I’m arguably not even out there yet. Second, this post isn’t intended to be pity party for me, only a reminder and some motivation because I’m sure this next year will be just as tough transitioning into a “real” job, something everyone constantly reminds me I am lacking.

So what have I really been up to? I’ve interned, interned some more, and interned again. Gone back to school at the UC Berkeley Extension for a certificate in project management, which is sadly isn’t grounds for deferring my undergrad Federal Direct Loans. Handled many side projects including promotional and guerilla marketing jobs, volunteering (Princess Project, TwestivalSF, fundraising for the AHA, etc.), blogging (Go Back to Berkeley, OMGbuymeTHIS, The InternView, etc.) and helping friends and clients establish their online strategies. Unrelated personal events include moving back into my parents house, my dog passing away, successfully paying down over $1000 in student loans, building my savings for the first time since 2007, dyed my hair blonde, and losing health insurance for the first time in my life.

But what’s next? G T F O. Getting the eff out, and I’m serious. I’ve never lived anywhere else besides Berkeley and San Francisco, and getting “out there” is the next logical step to creating new opportunities for myself. Whether that be a business, leisure or volunteer-driven move, there are places far and wide that I want to explore over the next year, and now is the perfect time as there’s no commitment tying me down. After visiting New York in June, I knew it was a place I’d have to live in at some point, but my options are open at this point. Right now I’m just focusing on putting more effort in my internship to walk away with a portfolio of work and fortifying hellaPR and leveraging it as I leave the Bay Area, slated for early 2011.

Pearl & Wall Street

About Chelsea Pearl

Community manager by day, style blogger by night. http://chelseapearl.com
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

